Army Officer Ranks

Commissioned officers are the highest ranks in the Army. These officers hold presidential commissions and are confirmed at their ranks by the Senate. Army officers in the ranks of O-1 to O-3 are called company grade officers; those in the pay grades O-4 to O-6 are known as field grade officers, and those in pay grades O-7 and above are known as general officers.

Army Officers And Their Insignia

Second Lieutenant (2LT) (O1) insignia

Second Lieutenant (2LT)(O1) Addressed as "Lieutenant." Typically the entry-level rank for most Commissioned Officers. Leads platoon-size elements consisting of the platoon SGT and two or more squads (16 to 44 Soldiers).


First Lieutenant (1LT) (O2) insignia

First Lieutenant (1LT)(O2) Addressed as "Lieutenant." A seasoned lieutenant with 18 to 24 months service. Leads more specialized weapons platoons and indirect fire computation centers. As a senior Lieutenant, they are often selected to be the Executive Officer of a company-sized unit (110 to 140 personnel).


Captain (CPT) (O3) insignia

Captain (CPT)(O3) Addressed as "Captain." Commands and controls company-sized units (62 to 190 Soldiers), together with a principal NCO assistant. Instructs skills at service schools and The United States Army combat training centers and is often a Staff Officer at the battalion level.


Major (MAJ)(O4) insignia

Major (MAJ)(O4) Addressed as "Major." Serves as primary Staff Officer for brigade and task force command regarding personnel, logistical and operational missions.


Lieutenant Colonel insignia

Lieutenant Colonel (LTC)(O5) Addressed as "Lieutenant Colonel" or "Colonel." Typically commands battalion-sized units (300 to 1,000 Soldiers), with a CSM as principal NCO assistant. May also be selected for brigade and task force Executive Officer.


Colonel (COL) (O6) insignia

Colonel (COL)(O6) Addressed as "Colonel."  Typically commands brigade-sized units (3,000 to 5,000 Soldiers), with a CSM as principal NCO assistant. Also found as the chief of divisional-level staff agencies.

Army Generals

Brigadier General (BG) (O7) insignia

Brigadier General (BG)(O7) Addressed as "General." Serves as Deputy Commander to the commanding general for Army divisions. Assists in overseeing the staff's planning and coordination of a mission.

Major General (MG) (O8) insignia

Major General (MG)(O8) Addressed as "General." Typically commands division-sized units (10,000 to 15,000 Soldiers).

Lieutenant General (LTG) (O9) insignia

Lieutenant General (LTG)(O9) Addressed as "General." Typically commands corps-sized units (20,000 to 45,000 Soldiers).

General (GEN) (O10) insignia

General (GEN)(O10) Addressed as "General." The senior level of Commissioned Officer typically has over 30 years of experience and service. Commands all operations that fall within their geographical area. The Chief of Staff of the Army is a four-star General.

General of the Army (GOA) insignia

General of the Army (GOA) This is only used in time of War where the Commanding Officer must be equal or of higher rank than those commanding armies from other nations. The last officers to hold this rank served during and immediately following WWII.

Want To Know More About The Army?

Be sure to get the latest news about the Army, as well as critical info about how to join the Army and all the benefits of service -- become a member for free and receive customized updates delivered straight to your inbox.

Show Full Article

Related Topics

Join the Military